The bad review effect

Okay so I’ve had several ideas about what to blog about this week. The bad review won out.

So for those who don’t know, I’m a writer. Check it out—–> www.viviennecraft.com

I write cheesy, sappy (or whatever you want to call them) and totally hot romance novels. It’s a bit of escapism. Anyhoo, reviews are a part of the game. Some people will like your stuff and some people won’t. That’s just how it goes but when they don’t like them, I have to read about it.

Now look I’m not a child and I’m not curing cancer here so it’s not that serious but I have no idea why this last bad review hit me so hard. It wasn’t even the first bad review I’ve gotten but this one was like a kick in the proverbial nuts. (Psst! I’m a woman and I don’t have real nuts)

Inserting bad review here:

1.0 out of 5 stars Please ran away form reading this……, July 11, 2014
By
(Redacted Customer Name)
Verified Purchase(What’s this?)
This review is from: Runaway Girlfriend: an erotic novel (Kindle Edition)
I didn’t really like this book. Just was dumb storyline. I actually wanted to help the Ex to get rid of the Herione. A waste of my time. Pass if you can….
Kim cries
I feels ya Kim….
So let’s review the review: One star (That is as low as you can go.) The grammatical errors. (Ran vs. Run) The total disregard for my leading lady….or Herione. <– That’s misspelled. I won’t clown this person too hard because everyone has a right to their opinion but I took this one hard.
I was in the middle of writing my last book when I got this review. Let’s just say I was bummed.  I actually stopped writing completely. I questioned why I even attempted going down the literary rabbit hole in the first  place. I started to contemplate sticking to my day job. *GASP*
Shocked Face
I know. I know. Nobody wants that! LOL But I was seriously sad. Here’s putting it into perspective. I got this review in July and I released my last book in late  August. I was already at the midway point when I got the review so I should have finished in July.   A month went by without me touching my keyboard. Okay well that’s a lie because I’m addicted to social media but I didn’t write a word otherwise.
Then one day I looked at my fan mail (I also had not touched any email) and read through them. My Crafties! I love each and every one of them. People were DEMANDING a part two of my book Secrets: The Researcher (You know I had to insert the link) .  There were people who really enjoyed my books. And there was one person  (Okay more than the one) who didn’t like one book but there were tons of other people who got me.
I wanna be loved by you
You like me…You really like me. But guess what?  I finished the book.  I released the book.  It’s called First comes baby….then what?
Here’s the link: First comes baby…. on Amazon   (Just in case you wanna check it out) *giggle*
You wanna know what happened next?  My book went to number one…..and stayed there. BOOOOOOOM!
Kelly shocked
Uh huh!! Number 1!!!!
HappyYup! I just checked…..It’s still number 1.
Jimmy Dancing
Not only is my new book Number 1, all my books are Top 100 and I haven’t stopped writing since. AAAAANnnnnd I’m back to the ugly cry face….
Cry faceIt’s the circle of life……..
~VC
4 thoughts on “The bad review effect

  1. I love your books. I’ve read all of them and can’t wait for part 2 of the Resercher. Keep writing great books. I am a fan. Stephanie

  2. I agree with you that everyone has a right to her opinion, but frankly, I’m NOT taking the opinion of someone who can NOT even spell. I’m sorry. Put your review in Word and use Spell and Grammar check. THEN paste it in. If she won’t take the time to do that, why would I take the time to read her review or take it to heart.
    Putting that aside, I’ve read them all – except the newest one because I’m in the middle of this other one right now — yours is next — and I LOVE them. Keep ’em coming. I thought the most recent release was going to be Researcher II and was a bit bummed when it wasn’t. But I very quickly got over that because everything you put out is gold to me.
    Don’t EVER stop writing. Can’t wait to read the next one and the next one and the ones after those!!!

Leave a Reply

