So Embarrassing Vol. 3

The year was 1989 and I was attending my first Prom.  I was soooo excited . I was going to be the first person in my circle of friends to attend one and it wasn’t even my prom but the prom at a school my mom was teaching at.

There was only one problem. I didn’t have an appropriate dress to wear.  I begged my mom to buy me a new dress but she was having none of it. So I devised a plan. My brother, who is ten years older than me had a gorgeous girlfriend who I idolized. She told me to come over and try on some of her old pageant dresses.

I did and found one that I loved. It was an adult color. Forest green. It was an off the shoulder floor length gown with a sweetheart neckline and… a split.

I felt like a beauty queen when I wore it. I tried that dress on every night for a week.

The night of the prom arrived and it was everything I thought a prom night should be.

The kids there were older than I was  and they were talking to me and dancing with me. Life was pretty good.

Then I happened to see a guy that had the prettiest green eyes. He was great! Just my type– the strong silent type.  He was sitting at a table full of people but I was too shy to go over there and  talk to him so I just stared at him from afar.

One of the people at the table noticed me and waved me over. For the next few minutes the people at that table asked me about myself and listened….really listened to my answers. And I was funny. I was full on.  They got my jokes. They got ME!

And Mr. Green Eyes couldn’t keep those special green eyes off of me.  I was floating on air until I realized no one was talking.  They hadn’t been talking for a few minutes.

I looked from one frozen face to another wondering what I had done. Was this some kind of Carrie like prank where pigs blood was going to fall from the ceiling? I actually heard, “They’re all gonna to laugh at you” playing in my head over and over.

carrie

I was embarrassed and I had no idea why. I started to back away but right before I made my escape I looked at Mr. Green Eyes on last time. His eyes held a spark of amusement. I nervously smiled back.  He pointed.

I looked down.

You see I’d borrowed a dress from a woman (and I was still a girl) and although I have been curvy since way back I was just a bit slimmer than the owner of the dress…..

That cute Sweetheart neckline I was so fond of had folded down on one side and I wasn’t wearing a bra. Yup. You guessed it.  My right breast had been exposed for I don’t how long during my magical diatribe with the cool older crowd….While I was talking to Mr. Green Eyes.

To my credit, I pulled my dress up and walked away with my chin held high while the table dissolved into uncontrollable laughter. All except for Mr. Green Eyes.

I went to the restroom to hide and cry and curse my fate. (Little did I know clothing would be my nemesis for the rest of my damn life) *see other So embarrassing posts*

There is an upside to this story,…Mr. Green Eyes found me before the end of the night and got my digits.  We went on to date for two years. I guess he liked what he saw.

~VC

Leave a Reply

