Is Job Shaming a thing now?

Okay So….

In my everyday life I am a recruiter so I know what I’m talking about here. My job is to find people jobs. Sometimes I’m successful. Sometimes I’m not. And it hurts my heart when I can’t find a job for someone who really wants to work. So what is this thing that is happening where people are being shamed for what they do to make money?

I KNOW how hard it is to get a job. And I also know that a lot of people aren’t working because they’re just plain out lazy.  So when I hear people talking down on someone who is working, I basically want to slap them across with face Bugs Bunny style.

There is no SHAME what so ever in making an honest living. I don’t care if you are a janitor or a stripper. If what you’re doing is putting food on the table then get that shit.

Now look, I am not saying that a woman or a man who is on one level can’t say I don’t want to date this person because we don’t match. To each their own.

I’m talking about friends and family members (or strangers) talking shit about a person who is working hard at a job they feel is beneath them. This has got to stop. Where do people get off doing this mess? If you want to talk shit about someone then do it about someone who is sitting on their ass waiting on someone else to get a job to take care of them.

In my lifetime, I have had corporate jobs, customer service jobs, and worked for myself.  When times were tough I worked overnight at Kroger. That was super hard because you make no money and everything comes out of your check so some weeks I would come home with fifty bucks.  But guess what I worked to get out of our situation and move on. When I tell people that I was once an overnight cashier at Kroger, I get surprise and disbelief. But why? I do what I have to do. Always. I would seriously be a stripper to take care of my kids if I had to.  And I would fight someone who tried to call me a whore for doing so. If there were no other way for me to provide, I would what I had to do.

Anyhoo….If you are doing this Job Shaming mess then stop it. That’s stupid.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Is Job Shaming a thing now?

  1. Work is work. It’s better to be working than not, so why are people trying to be smug about making others feel bad about what they do? As someone who has been long-termed unemployed before, all I wanted at one point was any job to escape the unemployment tag. It’s a big deal to say you’re working versus the alternative of being jobless. It really is.

Leave a Reply

