13 Reasons Why

Okay so….Most of my blogs are light hearted. That is usually where my head is at. But after watching the Netflix show 13 Reasons Why, I am moved to share something a little more serious. I watched this show and was compelled to take my daughter for a little one on one time and talk.
If you haven’t heard about this show, it tells the story of Hannah who commits suicide but before she does, gives her reasons why. I went into the show thinking why the hell did they make this but in the end I thought how important is was that they did.

I watched it as a mother. Through a mother’s eyes. And that was powerful. After seeing the show I took my daughter to the mall to have girl time. Then I told her how much I love her and that I SEE her. As a person and the young lady she is becoming.

I let her know that it is okay to be herself and that she is loved for just being her. Then I told her about when I was in high school.

Things happened to me when I was younger and at a certain point I felt just as alone as Hannah did in 13 Reasons Why. I only told one person and that person wound up saving my life. I didn’t go into detail with my daughter but I told her that no matter what, I will be there for her so she never has to feel that way. I also told her that no matter how mad I get at her that I will always love her and listen to her. There is nothing she can do or tell me to change that. And I repeated it several times. When I was younger I did feel like there was no one who understood what I was going through and I want my daughter to know that I always will.

But here is the scary part. Even if you are a great parent who is completely present, there is always a chance your kid could keep secrets and fall through the cracks. This terrifies me. But I will stay vigilant. My daughter is turning 13 this year. *insert blood curdling scream*

If you are a parent. Watch this show. Then talk to your kids. Warn them about…as much as you can. Then tell them you love them.

 

Suicide can be prevented. If you are thinking of taking your own life, please tell someone. If someone confides in you, take them seriously. Get Help.

http://www.crisistextline.org

Suicide Prevention Lifeline
1-800-273-8255

Just my 2 cents
~VC

Leave a Reply

